The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island presents annually a few temporary exhibitions. Most are produced by the Acadian Museum, but some are from other Canadian museums. These temporary exhibitions are an important component of the Acadian Museum’s programming, encouraging people to visit the Museum regularly to discover different aspects of Acadian history, culture, and heritage.

Each temporary exhibition is designed around a different theme, giving the Museum an opportunity to promote its collection of artifacts and even to expand it. Each exhibition also brings Museum staff to do research, thus enriching our knowledge of the Island’s Acadian community.

The first temporary exhibitions were produced in the old museum in1985. One of them, “An Agricultural People,” exhibited the main farm implements in the Acadian Museum’s collection. Another one was a photographic exhibition entitled “The Old Acadians”. It had been created in 1980 by the Eptek Centre in Summerside, in collaboration with the Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin. In all, eight temporary exhibitions were presented in the old museum between 1985 and 1990.

Since moving into the new building in 1991, the Acadian Museum has presented 70 temporary exhibitions!

Here are a few photos that will bring back memories.

.

An Agricultural People, 1985. An Agricultural People, 1985

This exhibition was the first temporary one presented in the old Acadian Museum.

(Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)

Handicraft, 1986. Handicraft, 1986

Temporary exhibition displayed in the old Acadian Museum on the occasion of the official opening of the first permanent exhibition.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

Hélène’s Mats, 1993. Hélène’s Mats, 1993

The Acadian Museum presented an exhibition of 42 of Hélène Gallant’s hooked mats. The artisan is seen here with her nephew, Father Albin Arsenault, who proceeded at the official opening of the exhibition.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Alma Buote, Island Acadian Artist (1894-1966): From Tignish to New York, 1995. Alma Buote, Island Acadian Artist (1894-1966): From Tignish to New York, 1995

Yvon Léger, Alma Buote’s cousin, Cécile Gallant, director of the Acadian Museum, and Henri Gaudet, donor of the Alma Buote Collection, were photographed in front of L’Acadienne, one of the paintings of Prince Edward Island’s first Acadian professional artist.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

L’Acadie du Québec, 1998. L’Acadie du Québec, 1998

This travelling exhibition, co-produced by the Musée acadien du Québec (Bonaventure) and the Musée de la Civilisation (Quebec City), contained a trunk with 19th century costumes which visitors could don. From l. to r.: Lynette Manuel, Diane Racette, unidentified girl, and Chelsey Mills. In front: Brittany Bradshaw.

(Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)

Evangeline’s Odyssey, 1998. Evangeline’s Odyssey, 1998

This travelling exhibition was produced by the Acadian Museum at the Université de Moncton.

(Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)

The Acadians of Tignish: Two Centuries of History, 1999. The Acadians of Tignish: Two Centuries of History, 1999

This impressive quilt was made by Anne Chaisson Manson (on the left), from Maine, to commemorate Tignish’s bicentennial. One of the quiltmaker’s ancestor, Jacques Chiasson, was a founder of the community in 1799. The quilt was the centerpiece of the exhibition.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

An Island Treasure: The Sculptures of Fabian “Foncy” Deagle, 2002. An Island Treasure: The Sculptures of Fabian “Foncy” Deagle, 2002

The Acadian Museum showcased its important collection of miniature sculptures by artist Fabian Deagle (1915-2000), a native of Lower Rollo Bay. Present at the official opening of the exhibition (l. to r.): Tilmon Gallant; Mary Deagle, the artist’s widow; David Le Gallant, President of the Association of the Acadian Museum of P.E.I.; Anita Richards.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Firsts in Acadie, 2004. Firsts in Acadie, 2004

This exhibition was produced on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the settlement of Acadie. It highlighted 14 achievements that Prince Edward Island’s Acadians were the first among Acadians in the Maritimes to accomplish.

(Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)

The Deportation of the Acadians of Île Saint-Jean:  A Remarkable Story of Courage and Determination, 2008. The Deportation of the Acadians of Île Saint-Jean: A Remarkable Story of Courage and Determination, 2008

Exhibition produced for the 250th anniversary of the Deportation of the inhabitants of Île Saint-Jean (today’s Prince Edward Island).

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

The Acadians and Sports: Then and Now, 2010. The Acadians and Sports: Then and Now, 2010

Noël Gaudet from Summerside proudly exhibits the medals won at curling by his daughter Suzanne Gaudet, an athlete of international caliber.

(Source: La Belle Alliance ltée)

Hooked Rugs by Island Acadians:  Keeping the Tradition Alive, 2010. Hooked Rugs by Island Acadians: Keeping the Tradition Alive, 2010

The exhibition showcased 76 hooked rugs made by 21 artisans from almost all of the Acadian communities on Prince Edward Island. Visiting the exhibition are Yvonne Arsenault and Joseph Gallant.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

Island Acadian Women:  Photos from the Years 1880 to 1960. Island Acadian Women: Photos from the Years 1880 to 1960

Presented in 2011, this exhibition featured 75 historical photos found in numerous private collections as well as several artifacts from the Acadian Museum of P.E.I.’s collection. Bella Bernard participated in the official opening. She is the baby seen on the introduction panel.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

La Roche & Grand-Ruisseau: 200 Years in Egmont Bay and Mont-Carmel, 2012. La Roche & Grand-Ruisseau: 200 Years in Egmont Bay and Mont-Carmel, 2012

This exhibition explored several aspects of the history of the two parishes since their foundation in 1812 and showcased recent photos taken in this region of Prince Edward Island by Leona Arsenault and Jacinthe Laforest.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Leave a reply

required

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard présente annuellement quelques expositions temporaires. Elles sont pour la plupart produites par le Musée. À l’occasion, certaines  proviennent d’autres institutions muséales canadiennes. Ces expositions temporaires sont importantes dans la programmation du Musée acadien. Elles encouragent les gens à visiter le Musée régulièrement pour découvrir différents aspects de l’histoire, de la culture et du patrimoine acadiens.

Les expositions temporaires, conçues chaque fois sur un thème différent, permettent au Musée de mieux faire connaître sa collection d’artéfacts et même d’enrichir sa collection. Chaque exposition amène aussi le personnel du Musée à faire des recherches, ce qui enrichit nos connaissances sur la communauté acadienne de l’Île.

Les premières expositions temporaires ont été montées dans l’ancien musée en 1985. L’une s’intitulait « Un peuple agricole ». Elle mettait en montre les principaux instruments aratoires de la collection du Musée. Une autre était une exposition photographique titrée « Les vieux Acadiens ». Celle-ci avait été créée en 1980 par le Centre Eptek de Summerside en collaboration avec la Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin. En tout, huit expositions temporaires ont été présentées dans l’ancien musée entre 1985 et 2001.

Depuis son déménagement dans le nouvel édifice en 1991, le Musée acadien a présenté 70 expositions temporaires!

Voici quelques photos souvenirs.

.

Un peuple agricole, 1985. Un peuple agricole, 1985

Cette exposition constitue la première exposition temporaire montée dans l’ancien édifice du Musée acadien.

(Source : Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

L’artisanat, 1986. L’artisanat, 1986

Exposition temporaire montée dans l’ancien édifice du Musée acadien à l’occasion de l’inauguration de la première exposition permanente.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Les tapis d’Hélène Gallant, 1993. Les tapis d’Hélène Gallant, 1993

Le Musée acadien offrait aux visiteurs une exposition des tapis houqués d’Hélène Gallant. Celle-ci regroupait 42 de ses oeuvres. L’artisane pose ici avec son neveu le père Albin Arsenault qui a ouvert officiellement l’exposition.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Alma Buote, artiste acadienne de l’Île : de Tignish à New York, 1995. Alma Buote, artiste acadienne de l’Île : de Tignish à New York, 1995

Yvon Léger, cousin d’Alma Buote; Cécile Gallant, directrice du Musée acadien; et Henri Gaudet, donateur de la collection Alma Buote, posent devant la peinture L’Acadienne, oeuvre de la première artiste acadienne professionnelle de l’Île.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

L’Acadie du Québec, 1998. L’Acadie du Québec, 1998

Cette exposition itinérante, produite par le Musée acadien du Québec, à Bonaventure, avec la collaboration du Musée de la Civilisation à Québec, comprenait un coffre renfermant des costumes du 19e siècle que les visiteurs pouvaient revêtir. De gauche à droite : Lynette Manuel, Diane Racette, fille non identifiée et Chelsey Mills. Devant : Brittany Bradshaw.

(Source : Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

L’Odyssée d’Évangéline, 1998. L’Odyssée d’Évangéline, 1998

Exposition itinérante « L’Odyssée d’Évangéline », une production du Musée acadien de l’Université de Moncton.

(Source : Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

Les Acadiens de Tignish : deux siècles d’histoire, 1999. Les Acadiens de Tignish : deux siècles d’histoire, 1999

Cette impressionnante courtepointe a été confectionnée pour commémorer le bicentenaire de Tignish par Anne Chaisson Manson, du Maine. Un de ses ancêtres, Jacques Chiasson, était un fondateur de la communauté en 1799. Cette oeuvre était à l’honneur dans l’exposition « Les Acadiens de Tignish : deux siècles d’histoire ». L’artisane Anne Chaisson Manson est à gauche.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Un trésor de l’Île : les sculptures de Fabian (Foncy) Deagle, 2002. Un trésor de l’Île : les sculptures de Fabian (Foncy) Deagle, 2002

Le Musée acadien présentait son importante collection de sculptures miniatures de l’artiste Fabian Deagle (1915-2000), originaire de Lower Rollo Bay. Présents à l’inauguration de l’exposition (de g. à d.) : Tilmon Gallant; Mary Deagle, veuve de l’artiste; David Le Gallant, président de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.; Anita Richards.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Premières en Acadie, 2004. Premières en Acadie, 2004

Cette exposition produite à l’occasion du 400e de l’Acadie soulignait quatorze accomplissements dont les Acadiens de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont été les premiers à réaliser dans l’Acadie des Maritimes.

(Source : Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

La Déportation des Acadiens de l’île Saint-Jean : une remarquable histoire de courage et de détermination, 2008. La Déportation des Acadiens de l’île Saint-Jean : une remarquable histoire de courage et de détermination, 2008

Exposition montée à l’occasion du 250e anniversaire de la Déportation des habitants de l’île Saint-Jean.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Les Acadiens et le sport : d’hier à aujourd’hui, 2010. Les Acadiens et le sport : d’hier à aujourd’hui, 2010

Noël Gaudet de Summerside montre fièrement les médailles remportées au curling par sa fille Suzanne Gaudet, une athlète de calibre internationale.(Source : La Belle Alliance ltée)

Tapis houqués chez les Acadiens et Acadiennes de l’Île : une tradition toujours vivante, 2010. Tapis houqués chez les Acadiens et Acadiennes de l’Île : une tradition toujours vivante, 2010

L’exposition regroupait 76 tapis fabriqués par 21 artistes provenant de presque toutes les régions acadiennes de l’Île. Examinant les tapis, Yvonne Arsenault et Joseph Gallant.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Les Acadiennes de l’Île : photos des années 1880 à 1960. Les Acadiennes de l’Île : photos des années 1880 à 1960

Présentée en 2011, cette exposition comprenait quelque 75 photos provenant de nombreuses collections privées et de plusieurs artéfacts de la collection du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. Bella Bernard participait à l’inauguration de l’exposition. Elle est le bébé que l’on voit sur le panneau d’introduction.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

La Roche et le Grand-Ruisseau : 200 ans à Baie-Egmont et à Mont-Carmel, 2012. La Roche et le Grand-Ruisseau : 200 ans à Baie-Egmont et à Mont-Carmel, 2012

L’exposition comprenait deux parties, soit l’une consacrée à divers aspects de l’histoire des deux paroisses depuis leur fondation en 1812, et l’autre partie à des photos récentes de la région prises par Léona Arsenault et Jacinthe Laforest.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Ecrire un commentaire

requis

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>