The Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee is a subcommittee of the Association of the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island. It was created in 2000 after the dissolution of the Acadian Historical Society of Prince Edward Island, founded in 1955. The Committee’s objectives are to “promote, research, and disseminate Acadian history, as well as to protect Acadian heritage.”

Since it was formed, the Historical Committee has organized numerous activities: history forums, lectures, unveiling of commemorative plaques, historical vignettes, etc. It has also frequently made representations to various government bodies to assert the Acadian presence and history on Prince Edward Island.

In 2008, it organized the first Forum des sociétés historiques et patrimoniales acadiennes (Forum of Acadian Historical and Heritage Societies), now known as the Forum acadien – histoire et patrimoine (Acadian Forum – History and Heritage). It takes place annually in different regions of the Maritime Provinces.

The Historical Committee revived two initiatives launched by the former Acadian Historical Society: the publication La Petite Souvenance and the Gilbert Buote Award. The annual Gilbert Buote Award was founded to encourage and promote projects in the field of Acadian history and heritage on Prince Edward Island. Between 2002 and 2009, the Committee published eight issues of La Petite Souvenance. This historical journal had previously been published between 1979 and 1986. Its content is now available online: http://museeacadien.org/lapetitesouvenance.

.

Celebrating the Memory of Sister Antoinette DesRoches

This celebration was organized by the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee and was held at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island on February 18, 2001. The committee was named in honour of Sister DesRoches who played a major role in the founding and administration of the Acadian Museum and of the former Acadian Historical Society of P.E.I. From left to right: Sister Patricia Arsenault, Sylvia Poirier, Paul DesRoches, Cyrus Gallant, and David Le Gallant.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

Poirier/Perry Day at the Acadian Museum

This activity was organized by the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee on September 22, 2002. The program included a presentation on the history of the Poiriers, a picture gallery, and a sharing of stories.

(Source: Clair Perry)

Unveiling of a Monument in Eldon

On July 6, 2005, the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee, in conjunction with the Belfast Historical Society, unveiled a monument in Eldon to commemorate the 1758 deportation of the Acadians from that area of Prince Edward Island as well as the deadly shipwreck of the Duke William. The unveiling was done by Isabelle Morrison MacDonald, representing the Scottish community, and young Emma Gaudet, from St. Felix, representing the Acadian community.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

Pélagie et Henriette

On March 25, 2007, during the Provincial French Celebrations, the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee held an activity at the Acadian Museum titled “J’parlons de même” (We talk that way). The program consisted of an interview with Alice Richard, author of the column “Pélagie et Henriette” published in La Voix acadienne; a skit featuring Pélagie and Henriette, played by Alice Richard and Marie Bernard; and a discussion on the teaching of Acadian French in the French-language schools on Prince Edward Island.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Number 21 of La Petite Souvenance is launched

This issue which came out in July 2008 contains an interview with former Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island, Léonce Bernard, and his wife Florence Bernard. They are seen here with the members of the publishing committee. From l. to r.: Léonce Bernard, David Le Gallant, Francis Blanchard, Edmond Gallant, Florence Bernard.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Forum of Acadian History and Heritage Societies

Held at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island in 2008, the Forum was organized by the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee. It included a panel discussion on the topic “What role can historical societies and museums play in the transmission of Acadian history among the youth.” Members of the panel, from l. to r.: Sally Ross, Philippe Basque, Jeanne-Mance Cormier, René Hurtubise, Elva Arsenault.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

The Gilbert Buote Award to CBC/Radio-Canada.

The 2008 Gilbert Buote Award was given to members of the CBC/Radio-Canada personnel in Charlottetown who produced the radio documentary “Vive l’Acadie de l’Île.” It was a project marking the 250th anniversary of the Deportation of the Acadians from Prince Edward Island. From l. to r.: Nancy Russell and Donna Allen of CBC, Georges Arsenault, President of the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee, and Audette Chiasson from Radio-Canada.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

L’Impartial Revisited: Yesterday’s Challenges vs Today’s Challenges

This educational and entertaining activity was presented six times in 2013 by the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee. The audiences were invited to meet the publishers of L’Impartial, P.E.I.’s first French-language newspaper. These visitors from the past read articles which had been published in the weekly between 1893 and 1915. These articles dealt with education, economy, community life, and the French language. From l. to r.: François Joseph Buote (Hervé Poirier), Lydie Chiasson (Marcella Perry), Marie Buote (Noëlla Richard), and Gilbert Buote (Georges Arsenault).

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee, 2013-2014

First row (l. to r.): Sister Della Gaudet (Secretary-Treasurer), Zita Gallant, Georges Arsenault (President), Nicole Gallant. Second row: Edmond Richard, André Cormier, Nick Arsenault, Clément Gallant, Edmond Gallant (Vice-President). Missing in the photo: Marguerite Arsenault.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

Leave a reply

required

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches est un sous-comité de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il a été créé en 2000 suite à la dissolution de la Société historique acadienne de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard qui avait été mise sur pied en 1955. Le Comité a comme but  « la promotion, la recherche et la diffusion de l’histoire acadienne, ainsi que la protection du patrimoine acadien ».

Depuis sa formation, le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches a organisé de nombreuses activités : forums historiques, conférences, dévoilements de plaques commémoratives, vignettes historiques, etc. Il a aussi entrepris de nombreuses démarches auprès de diverses instances gouvernementales afin de faire valoir la présence et l’histoire acadiennes à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

En 2008, il organisait le premier Forum des sociétés historiques et patrimoniales acadiennes lequel se nomme maintenant le Forum acadien – histoire et patrimoine. Il a lieu annuellement dans différentes régions des Provinces maritimes.

Le Comité a fait revivre deux initiatives de l’ancienne Société historique acadienne, soit la revue La Petite Souvenance et le prix Gilbert-Buote. Décerné annuellement, le prix Gilbert-Buote vise à encourager et à promouvoir les projets réalisés dans les domaines de l’histoire et du patrimoine acadiens à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Entre 2002 et 2009, le Comité a publié huit numéros de La Petite Souvenance. Cette revue historique avait été publiée auparavant entre 1979 et 1986. Son contenu est maintenant disponible en ligne : museeacadien.org/lapetitesouvenance

.

Célébration à la mémoire de soeur Antoinette DesRoches Célébration à la mémoire de soeur Antoinette DesRoches

Cette célébration organisée par le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-Desroches a eu lieu au Musée acadien le 18 février 2001. Le comité a été ainsi nommé afin de rappeler le rôle de premier plan que soeur DesRoches a joué dans la fondation et le fonctionnement du Musée acadien et de l’ancienne Société historique acadienne de l’Î.-P.-É. De g. à d. : soeur Patricia Arsenault, Sylvia Poirier, Paul DesRoches, Cyrus Gallant et David Le Gallant.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Journée des Poirier/Perry au Musée acadien Journée des Poirier/Perry au Musée acadien

Activité organisée par le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches le 22 septembre 2002. La journée comprenait une présentation sur l’histoire des Poirier, une galerie de photos et un partage de souvenirs.

(Source : Clair Perry)

Dévoilement d’un monument à Eldon Dévoilement d’un monument à Eldon

Le 6 juillet 2005, le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches, conjointement avec le Belfast Historical Society, dévoilait un monument à Eldon pour commémorer la déportation des Acadiens de cette cette région de l’Île et du naufrage du Duke William en 1758. Le dévoilement a été fait par Isabelle Morrison MacDonald, représentant la communauté écossaise et la jeune Emma Gaudet, de Saint-Félix, représentant la communauté acadienne.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Pélagie et Henriette Pélagie et Henriette

Le 25 mars 2007, à l’occasion des Célébrations de la francophonie, le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches tenait au Musée acadien une activité intitulée « J’parlons de même ». Le programme comprenait une interview avec Alice Richard, auteure de la chronique « Pélagie et Henriette » publiée dans La Voix acadienne; un sketch mettant en scène les personnages Pélagie et Henriette, joués par Alce Richard et Marie Bernard; et une discussion sur la question de l’enseignement du parler acadien dans les écoles francophones.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Lancement du numéro 21 de La Petite Souvenance Lancement du numéro 21 de La Petite Souvenance

Ce numéro, paru au mois de juillet 2008, contient une entrevue avec l’ancien lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Île Léonce Bernard et son épouse Florence Bernard. Ils posent avec les membres du comité de publication. De g. à d. : Léonce Bernard, David Le Gallant, Francis Blanchard, Edmond Gallant, Florence Bernard.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Forum des sociétés historiques et patrimoniales acadiennes Forum des sociétés historiques et patrimoniales acadiennes

Le programme de ce forum, tenu en 2008 au Musée acadien et organisé par le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-Desroches, comprenait une table ronde intitulée « Quel rôle les sociétés historiques et les musées peuvent-ils  jouer dans la transmission de l’histoire acadienne auprès des jeunes? » Membres de la table ronde, de g. à d. : Sally Ross, Philippe Basque, Jeanne-Mance Cormier, René Hurtubise, Elva Arsenault.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Le prix Gilbert-Buote à CBC/Radio-Canada Le prix Gilbert-Buote à CBC/Radio-Canada

Le prix Gilbert-Buote pour l’année 2008 a été décerné aux artisanes de CBC/Radio-Canada qui ont produit la série documentaire radio « Vive l’Acadie de l’Île », un projet dans le cadre du 250e anniversaire de la Déportation des Acadiens de l’Île. De g. à d. : Nancy Russell, Donna Allen de la CBC, Georges Arsenault, président du CHSAD, et Audette Chiasson de Radio-Canada. (Source – La Voix acadienne)

L’Impartial revisité : défis d’hier et d’aujourd’hui L’Impartial revisité : défis d’hier et d’aujourd’hui

Cette activité amusante et éducative a été présenté à six reprises en 2013 par le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches. Le public était invité à rencontrer les gens qui publiaient L’Impartial, le premier journal de langue française de l’Île. Ces visiteurs du passé ont lu des articles parus dans le journal entre 1893 et 1915. Il était question d’éducation, d’économie, de vie communautaire et de langue française. De g. à d. : François Joseph Buote (Hervé Poirier), Lydie Chiasson (Marcella Perry), Marie Buote (Noëlla Richard) et Gilbert Buote (Georges Arsenault).

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches, 2013-2014 Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches, 2013-2014

Première rangée (de g. à d.) : Soeur Della Gaudet (secrétaire-trésorière), Zita Gallant, Georges Arsenault (président), Nicole Gallant.

Deuxième rangée : Edmond Richard, André Cormier, Nick Arsenault, Clément Gallant, Edmond Gallant (vice-président). Absente de la photo : Marguerite Arsenault.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Ecrire un commentaire

requis

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>