1955: Founding of the Société historique, généalogique et littéraire acadienne de l’Île-Prince-Édouard (The Acadian Historical, Genealogical, and Literary Society of Prince Edward Island), which was renamed the Société historique acadienne de l’Î.-P.-É. (the Acadian Historical Society of PEI). Mr. Justice Sylvère DesRoches was elected President and Jérémie Pineau Secretary. From the very first meeting, the importance of having an Acadian Museum on Prince Edward Island was discussed. Father Jean-François Buote was appointed to chair a committee to address the issue.

The DesRoches Family. Three members of this Acadian family from Miscouche played an important role in the creation of the Acadian Museum. They are: Antoinette, Sylvère, and Ben. In this photo taken circa 1960, their mother Obéline DesRoches is posing with four of her six children. Sitting (l. to r.): Sister Antoinette DesRoches (1898-1994), Obéline DesRoches (1872-1979), Justice Sylvère DesRoches (1894-1975). Standing: Ben DesRoches (1904-1989) and Michel (Mick) DesRoches.(1902-1977). (Source: Acadian Research Centre of P.E.I. - Sister Antoinette DesRoches Fonds)
The DesRoches family

1960: Sister Antoinette DesRoches became President of the Acadian Historical Society of Prince Edward Island­. During her term, the Society began to collect historical objects, photos, manuscripts, and print documents in anticipation of eventually opening an Acadian Museum.

1962: During a meeting of the Acadian Historical Society of Prince Edward Island, it was stated that an Acadian Museum should be located in Miscouche and that efforts should be made to obtain the Malpeque bell.

Memoires

1963: On October 17, Sister Antoinette DesRoches presented a brief to a study group on resource development, directed by provincial researcher Hartwell Daley, when it visited Miscouche. She emphasized the importance of building an Acadian Museum in Miscouche. She said that for several years the sisters in the convent and their friends had been collecting old objects in the hope that a suitable building would eventually become available to preserve these memories of the past. She asked for a government grant to help build the museum.

Dr. J. Aubin Doiron (1922-1995). A native of North Rustico, he opened a dental practice in Summerside in 1951. He was the president of the Association of the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island from 1964 to 1980. That year he was named Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island. (Source: Georges Arsenault)
Dr. J. Aubin Doiron

1964: On January 26, founding meeting of the Association of the Acadian Museum called by Sister Antoinette DesRoches, President of the Acadian Historical Society of Prince Edward Island. Dr. J. Aubin Doiron was elected President and Sister Antoinette DesRoches, Secretary-Treasurer.

Honourable Henry Wedge (1908-1972). This Acadian from Summerside, former mayor of the town, was a member of Premier Walter Shaw’s cabinet in 1964. He was present at the founding meeting of the Association of the Acadian Museum. As a member of the finance committee, he played an important role in obtaining funds for the building of the Museum.
Henry Wedge

1964: The Association of the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island was incorporated on March 24, further to the adoption of a bill in the PEI Legislative Assembly proposed by the Honourable Henry Wedge.

Miscouche Carpenters Building the Acadian Museum, 1964. From left to right: Peter DesRoches, Agape DesRoches, Tilmon S. DesRoches (head carpenter), Gus DesRoches, Anthony Gaudet, and Lionel DesRoches. (Source: Acadian Research Centre of P.E.I. Collection).
Museum carpenters

1964: In the spring, the Acadian Museum was built out of logs under the direction of a building committee made up of Tilmon S. DesRoches, Ben DesRoches and Alfred Gaudet.

Official Opening of the Acadian Museum. The Honourable Walter Shaw, Premier of Prince Edward Island, cutting the ribbon under the watchful eye of Dr. J. Aubin Doiron, President of the Association of the Acadian Museum, on August 25, 1964. (Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)
Official opening

1964: Premier Walter Shaw officially opened the Acadian Museum on August 25.

1972: The Acadian Museum was expanded, including construction of a fire-proof vault to store a large number of artifacts.

Sister Antoinette DesRoches, C.N.D. First director of the Acadian Museum, position she held on a volunteer basis from 1964 to 1978. She was photographed in 1966 sitting in front of the Acadian Museum’s fake fireplace built in 1964. (Source: Acadian Research Centre of P.E.I. - Sister Antoinette DesRoches Fonds)
Sister DesRoches

1978: Sister Antoinette DesRoches, Director of the Acadian Museum for fourteen years, resigned. Sister Marguerite Richard replaced her and held the post for seven years. It is due to the generosity of their order, the Congrégation de Notre-Dame, that these two nuns were able to devote themselves to directing the Museum on a volunteer basis.

Sister Marguerite Richard (1925-1987). The Acadian Museum’s second director, she held the position on a volunteer basis from 1978 to 1985. On behalf of the Association of the Acadian Museum of P. E. I., the president J. Edmond Arsenault presented her with a going-away gift. (Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)
Sister Marguerite Richard

1979: Launch of a project, under the direction of Sister Marguerite Richard, to produce a catalogue of genealogical index cards from the registers of Prince Edward Island’s parishes with large Acadian populations.

. Edmond Arsenault (1915-1994). He was a committed volunteer from the Acadian community. It was under his presidency that the Acadian Research Centre of P.E.I. was created and that the new Acadian Museum was built in 1990-1991.  (Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)
J. Edmond Arsenault

1982: J. Edmond Arsenault became President of the Association of the Acadian Museum of PEI. He played a leading role in the Museum’s development until his death in 1994.

(Source : La Voix acadienne,  March 2, 1983)
Article from La Voix acadienne

1983: Start of a project to catalog the Acadian Museum’s artifact collection following recognized museology standards.

:The Lord Report. Prepared by museum consultants Barry Lord and Gail Dexter Lord in 1984, the Lord Report contained 126 recommendations, including the building of a new museum.
The Lord Raport

1984: Publication of the Lord Report, a planning study for the Acadian Museum. Its 126 recommendations included the construction of a new building to house the Acadian Museum.

1985: Creation of the Acadian Research Centre of Prince Edward Island, located at the Acadian Museum, with Georges Arsenault as its part-time Director.

Murielle Arsenault. She was the Acadian Museum’s director in 1986-1987. It was under her direction that the first thematic permanent exhibition was created. (Source: Georges Arsenault)
Murielle Arsenault

1986: Murielle Arsenault became the Acadian Museum’s first paid Director.

Permanent Exhibition, 1986. Designed by Reg Porter from the P.E.I. Heritage Foundation and historian Georges Arsenault, the exhibition was made up of several sections including this one on religious life. (Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)
Permanent exhibition

1986: The interior of the Acadian Museum was reorganized to set up a first permanent themed exhibition: “The Acadians of Prince Edward Island from 1720 to the present.”

1987: Start of a project to catalog the Acadian Research Centre’s archives following accepted archival standards.

(Source: La Voix acadienne, July 1987)
Article from La Voix acadienne

1987: Funding campaign launched and trust fund created by the Association of the Acadian Museum of PEI.

Cécile Gallant and Angèle Barriault, 1992. In 2014, these two permanent employees already had been at the service of the Acadian Museum for 26 years. (Source: Georges Arsenault)
Cécile Gallant and Angèle Barriault

1988: First operating grant obtained under the General Agreement on the Promotion of Official Languages between the federal and provincial governments. This grant allowed the hiring of a Director (Cécile Gallant) and an Administrative Assistant (Angèle Barriault). The Acadian Museum began to be opened all year round.

Building the New Acadian Museum, 1991. The Charlottetown firm Gillis + Guimond Architects Inc. designed the new Museum, while the building contract was given to Star Construction Ltd. of Summerside. (Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)
Museum under construction

1990: On October 3, construction started on the new Acadian Museum after funding was obtained under a federal-provincial agreement.

Ribbon Cutting Ceremony. Léonce Bernard, former Minister of Community and Cultural Affairs, cutting the ribbon at the official opening of the new Acadian Museum, assisted by Dr. J. Aubin Doiron, founding President of the Acadian Museum Association (1964), and J. Edmond Arsenault, acting President. (Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)
Ribbon cutting

1992: On April 24,  Léonce Bernard, former Minister of Community and Cultural Affairs, officially opened the new Acadian Museum.

Permanent Exhibition at the Acadian Museum of P.E.I. opened in 1992. (Source: Acadian Museum of P.E.I.)
Permanent exhibition

1992: On April 24, the official opening of the new Acadian Museum included the inauguration of the permanent exhibition entitled “The Island Acadians: The Story of a People”.

Signing of the Agreement. On February 20,1996 was held the signing ceremony  making the Acadian Museum one of the sites of the P.E.I. Museum and Heritage Foundation. From left to right: Paul H. Schurman, Past President of the P.E.I. Museum and Heritage Foundation; Gordon MacInnis, Minister of Education and Minister responsible for Culture and Heritage; and Wilfred Arsenault, President of the Association of the Acadian Museum of P.E.I. (Source: La Voix acadienne)
Signing the agreement

1996: On April 1, the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island became one of the seven sites of the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation.

1996: Launch of the video The Island’s Acadie, produced by the Acadian Museum, to introduce visitors to the history of the Acadians of Prince Edward Island. That same year, the video was awarded the Heritage Canada Foundation’s Award of Excellence.

1998: Launch of the Acadian Museum’s first website, created by Edwige Nicolas. The site was redone in 2011 by Riel Gallant. Link: museeacadien.org/an/

Tribute to Sister Antoinette DesRoches. On February 18, 2001, the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee held a celebration at the Acadian Museum in memory of Sister Antoinette DesRoches. From l. to r.: Sister Patricia Arsenault, Sylvia Poirier, Paul DesRoches, Cyrus Gallant, and David Le Gallant. (Source: Georges Arsenault)
Hommage to Sister DesRoches

2000: On January 16, creation of the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee, a sub-committee of the Association of the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island, with the following objectives: to promote, research, and disseminate Acadian history, as well as protect Acadian heritage”. David Le Gallant became its first President.

Jean Bernard. Director and archivist of the Acadian Research Centre of P.E.I. from 2003 to 2007. He is seen here in the vault where a great number of documents pertaining to the Acadian community of P.E.I. are preserved. (Source: Acadian Research Centre of P.E.I.)
Jean Bernard

2003: Full-time Director-Archivist position created for the Acadian Research Centre of Prince Edward Island. Jean Bernard was the first to hold this position. He created a genealogical database of the Acadian families of Prince Edward Island.

Unveiling of Claude Picard’s Paintings, 2005. Artist Claude Picard and David Le Gallant, President of the Association of the Acadian Museum of P.E.I., standing in front of one of the six paintings. (Source: La Voix acadienne)
Claude Picard and David Le Gallant

2005: On September 10, six large historical paintings by artist Claude Picard were unveiled. These were commissioned by the Association of the Acadian Museum of PEI.They tell the story of the Acadian national symbols (1881-2001) Link: museeacadien.org/an/exhibitions/galerie-claude-picard

Unveiling of the Replica of the Original Acadian Flag, 2009. Holding the flag (l. to r.): Béatrice Caillié, Director of La Belle-Alliance, Cécile Gallant, Director of the Acadian Museum, and Cécile Arsenault, Cultural Affairs Officer for the provincial government’s Community Cultural Partnership Program which contributed funds for the project. The replica has been installed in the main entrance of the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island. (Source: La Voix acadienne)
Unveiling of the replica

2009: On July 14, a replica of the original Acadian flag was unveiled to mark the 125th anniversary of the adoption of this national symbol at the National Acadian Convention held in Miscouche in 1884. The project was carried out in collaboration with the regional committee La Belle-Alliance.

2014: Inauguration of a major exhibition on the archeological digs at Pointe-aux-Vieux, an 18th century Acadian site on the shores of Malpeque Bay. It was the 70th temporary exhibition presented on the premises of the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island since the new building opened to visitors in the summer of 1991.

2014: The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island celebrated its 50th anniversary.

Leave a reply

required

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

1955 : Fondation de la Société historique, généalogique et littéraire acadienne de l’Île -Prince-Édouard (renommée « Société historique acadienne de l’Î.-P.-É. »). Le juge Sylvère DesRoches est élu président et Jérémie Pineau secrétaire. Dès la première réunion, on parle de l’importance d’avoir un musée acadien à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Le père Jean-François Buote est nommé président d’un comité pour étudier la question.
La famille DesRoches. Trois membres de cette famille de Miscouche ont joué un rôle important dans la création du Musée acadien, soit Antoinette, Sylvère et Benoît. Dans cette photo, prise vers 1960, on aperçoit Obéline DesRoches et quatre de ses six enfants. Assis (de g. à d.) : soeur Antoinette DesRoches (1898-1994), Obéline DesRoches (1872-1979), le juge Sylvère DesRoches (1894-1975). Debout : Benoît DesRoches (1904-1989) et Michel (Mick) DesRoches (1902-1977). (Source : CRAÎPÉ, fonds soeur Antoinette DesRoches)
La famille DesRoches

1960 : Soeur Antoinette DesRoches devient la présidente de la Société historique acadienne de l’Î.-P.-É. Sous sa présidence, on commence à collectionner des objets historiques, des photos et des documents manuscrits et imprimés en anticipant l’ouverture éventuelle d’un musée acadien.

1962 : Lors d’une réunion de la Société historique acadienne de l’Î.-P.-É., on affirme qu’un musée acadien devrait être situé à Miscouche et qu’il faudrait essayer d’obtenir la cloche de Malpèque.
Extraits du mémoire

1963 : Le 17 octobre, soeur Antoinette DesRoches présente un mémoire à un groupe d’étude sur le développement des ressources, dirigé par le chercheur provincial Hartwell Daley, lors de son passage à Miscouche. Elle souligne l’importance de construire un musée acadien à Miscouche. Elle mentionne que depuis quelques années, les religieuses du couvent et des amis collectionnent divers objets anciens dans l’espoir qu’éventuellement un édifice convenable sera disponible pour y conserver ces souvenirs du passé. Elle demande une subvention gouvernementale pour aider à la construction du musée.

 Dr J. Aubin Doiron (1922-1995). Originaire de Rustico-Nord, il a ouvert un cabinet dentaire à Summerside en 1951. Il a été président de l’Association du Musée acadien de 1964 à 1980. Cette année-là, il fut nommé lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. (Source : Georges Arsenault)
Dr J. Aubin Doiron

1964 : Le 26 janvier, réunion de fondation de l’Association du Musée acadien convoquée par soeur Antoinette DesRoches, présidente de la Société historique acadienne de l’Î.-P.-É. Le docteur J. Aubin Doiron est élu à la présidence et soeur Antoinette DesRoches au poste de secrétaire-trésorière.

Honorable Henry Wedge (1908-1972). Cet Acadien de Summerside, ancien maire de la ville, était membre du cabinet ministériel de Walter Shaw en 1964. Il a assisté à la réunion de fondation de l’Association du Musée acadien. À titre de membre du comité des finances, il a joué un rôle important dans la construction du Musée.
Henry Wedge

1964 : Incorporation de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard le 24 mars, suite à l’adoption d’un projet de loi à l’Assemblée législative de l’Î.-P.-É. proposé par l’honorable Henry Wedge.

Charpentiers de Miscouche construisant le Musée acadien. De gauche à droite : Peter DesRoches, Agape DesRoches, Tilmon S. DesRoches (chef menuisier) , Gus DesRoches, Anthony Gaudet et Lionel DesRoches. (Source : CRAÎPÉ, fonds 1)
Charpentiers du Musée

1964 : Au printemps, construction du Musée acadien en bois rond sous la direction du comité de construction composé de Tilmon S. DesRoches, Benoit DesRoches et Alfred Gaudet.

Ouverture officielle du Musée acadien. L’honorable Walter Shaw, premier ministre de l’Î.-P.-É., coupe le ruban traditionnel sous le regard du Dr J. Aubin Doiron, président de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. (Source : Musée acadien)
Ouverture officielle

1964 : Le premier ministre Walter Shaw procède à l’ouverture officielle du Musée acadien le 25 août.

1972 : Agrandissement du Musée acadien dans lequel on construit une voûte à l’épreuve du feu  pour l’entreposage d’un bon nombre d’artefacts.
Soeur Antoinette DesRoches, cnd. Première directrice du Musée acadien, poste qu’elle a occupé bénévolement de 1964 à 1978. Elle a été photographiée en 1966 devant le foyer décoratif du Musée construit en 1964. (Source : CRAÎPÉ, fonds Soeur Antoinette DesRoches)
Soeur DesRoches

1978 : Démission de soeur Antoinette DesRoches, directrice du Musée acadien pendant quatorze ans. Soeur Marguerite Richard la remplace et occupe le poste pendant sept ans. C’est grâce à la générosité de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame que ces deux religieuses ont pu se consacrer bénévolement à la direction du Musée.

Soeur Marguerite Richard (1925-1987). Deuxième directrice du Musée acadien. Elle a occupé le poste bénévolement de 1978 à 1985. À l’occasion de son départ, le président J. Edmond Arsenault lui remettait un cadeau de la part de l’Assoociation du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. (Source : CRAÎPÉ)
Soeur Richard

1979 : Sous la direction de soeur Marguerite Richard, lancement d’un projet pour constituer un fichier généalogique à partir des registres des paroisses de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard comprenant une importante population acadienne.

J. Edmond Arsenault (1915-1994).  Un grand bénévole de la communauté acadienne, c’est sous sa présidence que le centre de recherche acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. a été créé et que le nouvel édifice du Musée acadien a été construit en 1990.  (Source : CRAÎPÉ)
J. Edmond Arsenault

1982 : J. Edmond Arsenault devient président de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. Il joue un rôle de premier plan dans le développement du Musée jusqu’à son décès en 1994.

(Source : La Voix acadienne, 2 mars 1983)
Article de la Voix acadienne

1983: Début du projet de catalogage de la collection d’artefacts du Musée acadien, selon les normes muséales reconnues.

Le Rapport Lord. Préparé par les experts-conseils en muséologie, Barry Lord et Gail Dexter Lord, le Rapport Lord contenait 126 recommandations.
Le Rapport Lord

1984 : Publication du rapport Lord sur la planification du Musée acadien. Parmi ses 126 recommandations, il recommande la construction d’un nouvel édifice pour loger le Musée acadien.

1985 : Création du Centre de recherche acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard situé au Musée acadien. Georges Arsenault en devient le directeur à temps partiel.
Murielle Arsenault. Elle a occupé le poste de directrice du Musée acadien en 1986-1987. C’est sous sa direction que la première exposition thématique permanente a été montée. (Source : Georges Arsenault)
Murielle Arsenault

1986 : Murielle Arsenault devient la première directrice rémunérée du Musée acadien.

Exposition permanente, 1986. Conçue par Reg Porter de la Fondation du patrimoine de l’Î.-P.-É. et Georges Arsenault, l’exposition comprenait plusieurs sections dont celui sur la vie religieuse.  (Source - CRAÎPÉ.)
Exposition permanente

1986 : Réorganisation de l’intérieur du Musée acadien pour y aménager une première exposition permanente thématique intitulée « Les Acadiens de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de 1720 à nos jours ».

1987 : Début du classement des fonds d’archives du Centre de recherche acadien de l’Î.-P.-É., selon les normes archivistiques reconnues.
(Source : La Voix acadienne, le 1er juillet 1987)
Article de la Voix acadienne

1987 : Lancement d’une campagne de financement et création d’un fonds de fiducie par l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.

 Cécile Gallant et Angèle Barriault, 1992. En 2014, ces deux employées permanentes comptent déjà 26 ans au service du Musée acadien. (Source : Georges Arsenault)
Cécile Gallant et Angèle Barriault

1988 : Premier octroi de fonctionnement grâce à l’Entente-cadre sur la promotion des langues officielles entre les gouvernements fédéral et provincial. Ceci permet l’embauche d’une directrice (Cécile Gallant) et une adjointe administrative (Angèle Barriault). Ouverture du Musée acadien à longueur d’année.

Musée acadien en construction, 1991. Les plans du nouveau musée ont été conçus par la firme Gillis + Guimond Architects Inc. de Charlottetown alors que l’on a confié à Star Construction Ltd. de Summerside les travaux de construction. (Source : CRAÎPÉ)
Musée en construction

1990 : Le 3 octobre, début de la construction du nouveau Musée acadien suite à l’obtention de financement dans le cadre d’une entente fédérale-provinciale.

Coupe du ruban traditionnel. Léonce Bernard, ancien ministre des Affaires communautaires et culturelles  procède à l’ouverture officielle du Musée acadien en compagnie du Dr J. Aubin Doiron, président fondateur du Musée acadien (1964) et de J. Edmond Arsenault, président en fonction. (Source : CRAÎPÉ)
Ouverture officielle

1992 : Le 24 avril, ouverture officielle du nouveau Musée acadien par Léonce Bernard, ancien ministre des Affaires communautaires et culturelles.

Exposition permanente, 1992.
Exposition permanente

1992 : Le 24 avril, lors de l’ouverture officielle du nouveau Musée acadien, on inaugure l’exposition permanente intitulée « Les Acadiens de l’Île : une communauté et son histoire ».

Signature de l’entente. Le 20 février 1996, signature de l’entente sur l’intégration du Musée acadien dans le réseau de Musée et patrimoine Î.-P.-É. De gauche à droite : Paul H. Schurman, président de Musée et patrimoine Î.-P.-É., Gordon MacInnis, ministre de l’Éducation et responsable de la culture et du patrimoine et Wilfred Arsenault, président de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. (Source : La Voix acadienne)
Signature de l’entente

1996 :Le 1er avril , le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard devient un des sept sites du réseau provincial Musée et patrimoine Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

1996 : Lancement de la vidéo L’Acadie de l’Île, produite par le Musée acadien, laquelle sert à introduire les visiteurs à l’histoire des Acadiens de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. La même année, cette vidéo méritait le prix d’excellence de la Fondation Héritage Canada.
1998 : Lancement du premier site Web du Musée acadien, créé par Edwige Nicolas. Le site a été refait en 2011 par Riel Gallant. Lien : museeacadien.org/fr
Hommage à soeur Antoinette DesRoches. Le 18 février 2001, le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches tenait au Musée acadien une célébration à la mémoire de soeur Antoinette DesRoches. De d. à g. : soeur Patricia Arsenault, Sylvia Poirier, Paul DesRoches, Cyrus Gallant et David Le Gallant. (Source : Georges Arsenault)
Hommage à soeur DesRoches

2000 : Le 16 janvier, création du Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches, un sous-comité de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Son but : la promotion, la recherche et la diffusion de l’histoire acadienne, ainsi que la protection du patrimoine acadien. David Le Gallant en devient le premier président.

Jean Bernard. Directeur-archiviste du Centre de recherche acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. de 2003 à 20__. On le voit ici dans la voûte du Centre où l’on conserve un très grand nombre de documents ayant trait à la communauté acadienne de l’Île.  (Source : CRAÎPÉ)
Jean Bernard

2003 : Création d’un poste à plein temps de directeur-archiviste pour le Centre de recherche acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Jean Bernard est le premier à combler ce poste. Il crée  une base de données généalogiques des familles acadiennes de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. (21 – Photo Jean Bernard dans le CRAÎPÉ)

Dévoilement des tableaux de Claude Picard. L’artiste-peintre Claude Picard et David Le Gallant, président de l’Association du Musée acadien devant l’une des six toiles. (Source : La Voix acadienne)
Dévoilement des tableaux

2005 : Le 10 septembre, dévoilement des six grands tableaux historiques de l’artiste Claude Picard racontant les 120 ans de l’histoire des symboles nationaux acadiens (1881-2001). Une commande de l’Association du Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É. Lien : museeacadien.org/fr/nouvelles/galerie-claude-picard

Dévoilement de la réplique du drapeau acadien original. Tenant la drapeau (de g. à d.) : Béatrice Caillié, directrice de La Belle‑Alliance, Cécile Gallant, directrice du Musée acadien, et Cécile Arsenault, du Programme de partenariat culturel et communautaire du gouvernement provincial qui a contribué des fonds à l’initiative. La réplique est maintenant installée dans le hall d’entrée du Musée. (Source : La Voix acadienne)
Dévoilement de la réplique

2009 : Le 14 juillet, dévoilement d’une réplique du drapeau acadien original à l’occasion du 125e anniversaire de l’adoption de ce symbole national lors de la Convention nationale des Acadiens tenue à Miscouche en 1884. Un projet réalisé en collaboration avec La Belle-Alliance ltée.

2014 : Inauguration de l’exposition majeure sur les fouilles archéologiques à Pointe-aux-Vieux, un site acadien sur les côtes de la baie de Malpèque au 18e siècle. Il s’agit de la 75e exposition temporaire à être présentée dans les salles du Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard depuis l’ouverture du nouvel édifice aux visiteurs à l’été 1991.
2014 : Le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard célèbre son 50e anniversaire.

Ecrire un commentaire

requis

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>