Since the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island has been able to hire full-time staff in 1988, and especially since the new facilities have opened in 1991, it has been possible to offer the public a choice variety of activities related mainly to Acadian history and culture.

These activities are sometimes organized in collaboration with other organizations, such as the Sister Antoinette DesRoches Historical Committee and La Belle-Alliance ltée (the Société Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin’s regional committee in the greater Miscouche-Summerside region).

The many activities that have taken place over the years include the Tuesday Talks, the Festival Folk-Acadie, Christmas at the Museum, National Acadian Day celebrations on August 15, book and CD launches, unveilings, workshops, demonstrations, symposiums, soirees of songs, music, and storytelling, and, of course, exhibition openings.

All of these activities contribute significantly to bring life to the Acadian Museum and to highlight the province’s Acadian history and culture.

.

Workshop on Old Cameras

In 1988, Ron Wybou, from Charlottetown, gave a presentation at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island on his collection of old cameras. This activity was held during the P.E.I. Art Festival.

(Source: Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

Lecture by Georges Arsenault

Historian Georges Arsenault is a regular lecturer at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island. In 1992, he gave a lecture in French titled “Senator Joseph-Octave Arsenault, Man of the Acadian Renaissance.” Hélène Gallant and Armand Gaudet were among the attendees.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

How Christmas was Celebrated in Years Past

In 1993, the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island held its first “Christmas at the Museum.” Workshops on Christmas traditions of the past were offered to children. During one of the workshops, Father Éloi Arsenault got the children singing French Christmas carols while Hermine Arsenault shared with the kids memories of Christmases from her childhood.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

A Knitting Machine

During the 1995 Acadian Frolic at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island, Louise Arsenault demonstrated how to knit stockings using a knitting machine. Attending the demonstration were Annonciade and Joseph Gallant from Wellington.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

August 15 at the Acadian Museum

Getting ready for the Acadian family parade during the 1998 Acadian National Feast Day.

(Source: Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

Christmas at the Museum

The Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel parish choir participated many times at the Christmas celebrations at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island. The choir is seen here in 1998 singing both French and English Christmas carols under the direction of Edmond Gallant.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

The Acadian Troubadours

In 2000, the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island sponsored a school tour of the duo “Les Troubadours acadiens” composed of Michael Pendergast (left) and Georges Arsenault. The presentation with songs, tales, and music dealt with the Candlemas collection tradition. The troubadours are seen here during a performance at the Museum.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

 

Young Student Employees

Janice Arsenault (left) and Geneviève Ouellette were part of the summer staff at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island in 2000. Among their responsibilities was the coordination of the Folk Acadie Festival.

(Source: Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

 

The Acadians of Summerside

Betty Pickering (née Blacquière), Anne Richard, and Kenny Arsenault participated in a panel discussion entitled “Growing Up Acadian in Summerside” during the symposium “The Acadians in Town: The Summerside Community, Past and Present” organized jointly by the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island and La Belle-Alliance (regional committee of the Société Saint-Thomas d’Aquin) in 2000. Barbara LeBlanc was the facilitator of the panel discussion.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

 

Old Time Music

Traditional musicians are often part of the activities held at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island. In 2000, at the launch of the CD Acadian Folk Music of Prince Edward Island, Amand Arsenault couldn’t resist giving a step while Zélie-Anne Gaudet played one of her lively tunes. Georges Arsenault who compiled the CD looks on.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

The Festival Folk-Acadie Pamphlet

From 1996 to 2001, summer visitors at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island were treated to numerous cultural activities during its Festival Folk-Acadie.

An Unveiling

On February 17, 2002, a sculpture by Louis-Philippe Hébert titled Acadiens, donated to the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island by Camille Brière from Montréal, was unveiled. Doing the honours were members of two generations. From left to right: Mitchell Chaisson and Emmanuel Doucette from West Prince, and Édouard Blanchard and Samantha Gallant from Rustico.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Mid-Lent Visitors at the Museum

A few Mi-Carêmes made an appearance at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island on February 17, 2008 for the launching of the French version of Georges Arsenault’s book Acadian Mi-Carême: Masks and Merrymaking.

(Source: Georges Arsenault)

Book Launching

Writer Melvin Gallant, a native of Urbainville, P.E.I., launched his historical novel Le Métis de Beaubassin at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island on October 4, 2009.

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Tuesday Talks

Since 2005, the Tuesday Talks are part of the summer program at the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island. Three are given in French and three in English. In 2012, Riel Gallant was one of the guest lecturers. His topic: “The Buotes and Their Printing Company.”

(Source: La Voix acadienne)

Leave a reply

required

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Depuis que le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard compte un personnel à plein temps, et depuis l’ouverture de ses nouvelles installations en 1991, il est en mesure d’offrir au public une belle variété d’activités axées principalement sur l’histoire et le patrimoine acadiens.

Ces activités sont parfois organisées en collaboration avec d’autres organismes, tels le Comité historique Soeur-Antoinette-DesRoches et La Belle-Alliance ltée (comité régional de la Société Saint-Thomas -d’Aquin pour la grande région Miscouche-Summerside).

Parmi les nombreuses activités à se dérouler au cours des années, mentionnons les Causeries du mardi, le Festival Folk-Acadie, Noël au Musée, la Fête nationale acadienne du 15 août, les lancements de livres et de CD, les dévoilements, les ateliers, les démonstrations, les colloques, les soirées de musique, de chansons et de contes traditionnels et, bien sûr, les inaugurations des expositions.

Toutes ces activités contribuent grandement à donner vie au Musée acadien et à mettre en valeur l’histoire et la culture acadiennes de la province.

.

Un atelier sur les anciens appareils photos

En 1988, dans le cadre du Festival des arts de l’Île, Ron Wybou, de Charlottetown, donnait au Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard une présentation sur sa collection d’anciens appareils photos.

(Source : Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

Une conférence de Georges Arsenault

Depuis de nombreuses années, l’historien Georges Arsenault donne des conférences au Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. En 1992, il en donnait une intitulée « Le sénateur Joseph-Octave Arsenault, homme de la Renaissance acadienne ». Parmi ses auditeurs, il y avait Hélène Gallant et Armand Gaudet.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Comment on fêtait Noël dans le temps passé

Lors du premier « Noël au Musée », en 1993, les enfants ont pu participer à des ateliers sur les Noëls d’autrefois. Sur la photo, on voit le père Éloi Arsenault chanter des chants de Noël avec les enfants et Hermine Arsenault qui a raconté aux enfants les Noëls de son enfance.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Tricoter à la machine

Lors du Frôlic acadien de 1995 au Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édoaurd, Louise Arsenault donnait une démonstration d’une machine à tricoter des bas. Elle montrait son travail à Annonciade et Joseph Gallant de Wellington.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Le 15 août au Musée acadien

On se prépare pour le défilé des familles acadiennes lors de la Fête nationale de l’Acadie, en 1998.

(Source : Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

Noël au Musée

La chorale de la paroisse Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel a participé à de nombreuses reprises à la fête de Noël au Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. On la voit ici en 1998 interpréter les chants traditionnels de Noël sous la direction d’Edmond Gallant.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Les Troubadours acadiens

Le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard patronna en 2000 une tournée scolaire du duo Les Troubadours acadiens composé de Michael Pendergast (à gauche) et Georges Arsenault. Leur spectacle, avec chansons, récits et musique, racontait la tradition de la quête de la Chandeleur. On les voit ici dans une performance au Musée même.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

De jolies jeunes employée

Janice Arsenault (à gauche) et Geneviève Ouellette faisaient partie du personnel du Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pendant la saison estivale de 2000. Elles ont entre autres coordonné les activités du Festival Folk-Acadie.

(Source : Musée acadien de l’Î.-P.-É.)

Les Acadiens de Summerside

Betty Pickering (née Blacquière), Anne Richard et Kenny Arsenault participaient à une table ronde intitulée « Growing Up Acadian in Summerside » lors du colloque « Les Acadiens en ville : la communauté acadienne de Summerside, hier et aujourd’hui » organisé conjointement par le Musée acadien et La Belle Alliance (comité régional de la SSTA) en 2000. Barbara LeBlanc était l’animatrice de la table ronde.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

De la musique traditionnelle

Le Musée acadien accueille souvent des musiciens traditionnels lors de ses activités. En 2000, lors du lancement du CD Refrains et mélodies de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la violoneuse Zélie-Anne Gaudet faisait danser Amand Arsenault sous le regard de Georges Arsenault, compilateur du CD.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Dépliant du Festival Folk-Acadie

Au cours des étés 1996 à 2001, le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édoaurd proposait de nombreuses activités culturels aux visiteurs dans le cadre de son Festival Folk-Acadie.

Un dévoilement

Le 17 février 2002 avait lieu le dévoilement de la sculpture Acadiens de Louis-Philippe Hébert, un don fait au Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard par le Camille Brière, du Québec. Des représentants de deux générations avaient l’honneur de faire le dévoilement. De gauche à droite : Mitchell Chaisson et Emmanuel Doucette de Prince-Ouest et Édouard Blanchard et Samantha Gallant de Rustico.

(Source – La Voix acadienne)

Des mi-carêmes au Musée

Quelques mi-carêmes se sont présentées au Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard le 17 février 2008 à l’occasion du lancement du livre La Mi-Carême en Acadie de Georges Arsenault.

(Source : Georges Arsenault)

Lancement de livre

L’écrivain Melvin Gallant, originaire d’Urbainville, Î.-P.-É., lançait son roman historique Le Métis de Beaubassin au Musée acadien le 4 octobre 2009.

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Les Causeries du mardi

Depuis 2005, le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard offre pendant l’été une série de causeries les mardi soirs dont trois sont données en français et trois en anglais. En 2012, Riel Gallant était un des conférenciers. Son sujet : « Les Buote et leur imprimerie ».

(Source : La Voix acadienne)

Ecrire un commentaire

requis

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>